Vegetable Overload!

striped-border
In May I joined a CSA (community supported agriculture) at a local farm so every week I get a bunch of fresh, organic vegetables.  Figuring out what to do with them is the hard part.  I’m not the most adventurist eater and if you had asked me in May if I liked eating tomatoes, I would have said no.  Now, I really enjoy them.  I made a lovely meal of sliced tomatoes, mozzarella, and a baguette.  Delicious!

IMG_0924 IMG_0847

My boyfriend is the better cook and he made chile rellenos, stuffed peppers, and stuffed tomatoes.  All were amazing.

I stick with simpler things like giant salads, sauteing, and stir fry.  The giant salad I made the other night was pretty much just mixed greens and various tomatoes.  I threw in one bell pepper as well.

IMG_0925

But then I made a very interesting dressing.  We had garlic sauce from Papa John’s so I used that as the oil part of my dressing. I added some sherry vinegar, honey, and a few twists of my favorite seasoning grinder from Trader Joe’s.  Best part: no measuring!  I just made it up as I went along.

IMG_0930 IMG_0931

And what was I supposed to do with all of those greens?!  I had kale and sweet potato  greens.  I had never seen, used, or eaten sweet potato greens.  They have a sweeter taste and I found recipes that suggested using honey or maple syrup with them to bring out the sweetness.  I went in the other direction and cooked all the greens down with olive oil, garlic, and some more of the Everyday Seasoning from TJ’s.  These greens would be great with mashed potatoes.  Let’s be honest, everything is good with mashed potatoes.

I put them in some left over curry and chicken and poured it over quinoa.

I have a month left of the CSA and am excited to start making cozy meals with winter squash.  Some stuffed acorn squash and butternut squash mac and cheese, possibly?  I’ll keep you posted!

-Dana

Leave a Reply

