What to do with your Instagram Photos- Part 1

post-border-2

A friend of mine recently got married and had the great idea to assign a hashtag to her wedding. She posted this sign at the entrance to her venue:

2013-08-22_1377193200

We were talking one evening about how nice it is that she can now look at all these fun pictures that her family and friends took, but she was disappointed that she couldn’t do anything with the photos. When I got home that night, I did some research on what to do with Instagram photos. I was pleasantly surprised by all the different options.

The two options that I thought would be best for wedding photos:

-Instagram Photo Prints

-Instagram Photo Album

Since this was going to be part of her wedding present, I decided to go with the photo album. Now, it came down to, which company do I use??? I decided onArtifact Uprising and their ‘Instagram Friendly Book’.
Now, here is the hard part. Getting the Instagram pictures.

At every company I researched, the way they upload your Instagram photo’s is by having you sign into your Instagram account through their website. This automatically pulls all your photos from your account so you can begin putting them in your book. Problem is, all these photos that were taken weren’t on my Instagram account, they were on about 50 different wedding guests accounts. So what is a girl to do?! Well, bend the rules of course!

This is where I had to get creative. I sorta, kinda, had to ‘borrow’ these photos. Luckily, I knew most of the people who took them and knew they wouldn’t mind. Also, it was for the Bride and Groom, so who would say no? Right?!

So I searched for their wedding hashtag and it came up with about 100 photos.

screenshot

I then began going through and pulling up the photos and taking screen shots of them.

screenshot2
Next, I created a new Instagram account just for this project. I posted all the photos I took screen shots of. Phew, this took a while!

AFTER I did all this, I found Artifact Uprising. I had already decided on another company where you upload your photos by signing into Instagram from their website but when I started creating the book, I really wasn’t happy with the layout choices. Well, Artifact Uprising isn’t integrated with Instagram yet, so you can’t upload straight from your Instagram account. All that work for nothing! Boo.

It all worked out ok though. Because I had posted these to my new Instagram account, I had all the photos saved on my phone. I just synced my phone with my computer and uploaded all the pics from my computer. But man, a lot of work for nothing!

Then it was time to create this book. I chose the 8.5 x 8.5 size book. Organizing all of the photos took me a long time because I wanted the pictures to go in order of events at the wedding. There was a lot of rearranging and moving of pictures!

artifact uprising

One of the reasons I chose Artifact Uprising was because I liked all the layout options they had for pictures. It was a much more sleek and modern look as apposed to some of the other companies which layouts had crazy amounts of clip art and picture borders. I like the pictures to just speak for themselves.

Here is the final product!

artifactbook2

The only complaints I had, is that I wish they offered their Instagram books in hardcover, and they need to get on getting Instagram integrated with their website. Otherwise, I was very happy with the final product. Have y’all found creative ways to display your Instagram photos? Check back later for Part 2 of this post where I will show you another way to use Instagram photos!

post-border-2

-Caitlin

Leave a Reply

