Five on Friday!

post-border-2

fiveonfriday

ONE

Caitlin:

Halloween Stuff!

I love Halloween stuff.  Not the spooky, creepy things, but the adorable things with pumpkins and candy corn on them. I went to Target after work on Monday and roamed the Halloween aisle for about 30 minutes. There were so many fun things I wanted to get but I had to contain myself. Ok, maybe not totally contain since I ended up with this haul:halloween

But trust me, that is much better than it could have been!

Dana:

Pretty Strips

When I get a cut, I use bandages.  But I rarely use a flesh color bandage unless it is the only option.  Colorful and patterned bandages are the best!  I found this company via Real Simple’s October issue.  They have fun patterns for both adults and kids and they are latex free which is nice for me.

Screen shot 2013-10-03 at 9.42.11 PM

TWO

Caitlin:

Bath and Body Works CandlesBath-Body-Works-Pumpkin-Candle

I know I am really late on this whole craze, but I’ve always associated Bath and Body Works with middle school. Remember when every gift you got for your friends was a body spray or lotion from Bath and Body Works?! I remember having about 10 bottles of cucumber melon spray. That was THE scent to have! Anyway, I never think to go there because I associated it with teenage girls using way to much horribly smelling body spray. I keep seeing pictures on instagram of Bath and Body Work candles for the fall, and everyone raving about how amazing the scents are. So when I got a coupon from PayPal I decided to give it a try. My friend Ashley and I were at the mall so I decided to stop in and smell all the candles so I could figure out which I ones I wanted to buy. (I had to buy them online so I could use the PayPal coupon) I am not kidding when I say, we smelled EVERY SINGLE CANDLE in that store. I decided to go for some of the fall candles like Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin and leaves. I will let you know how the scent is once I burn them!

Dana: 

Lorde

Screen shot 2013-10-03 at 9.43.08 PM

I cannot stop listening to her songs!  Can you?!  The first time I heard her was on NPR and I loved it instantly.  The next day I heard her on a local mix station and now she’s everywhere.  She’s even been in my Instagram feed in one of Rebel Wilson’s photos.

THREE

Caitlin:

Sewn Paper Garlandgarland

I have been wanting to try my hand at making paper garland for a while now. Dana made some for my bridal shower and it was beautiful! The one pictured above it from Etsy, but I was sure I could make it myself. Well, not as easy as I thought. But I am getting the hang of it! It has definitely been a trial and error craft. One I have it mastered, I will be sure to post a tutorial! I really want to try some with glitter paper but I am not sure if my sewing machine can handle that.

Dana:

Laurie R. King

Are you looking for a new mystery to read?  Look no further.  Laurie R. King’s new book, The Bones of Paris, had me hooked instantly.  Now, I’m a huge fan of her writing and read her acclaimed Mary Russell series which follows Mary as she becomes the apprentice of a middle aged Sherlock Holmes.  The Bones of Paris is about an American private investigator searching for a young woman in Paris who has been out of touch with her family in the U.S. for months.  One part was so creepy that I had to stop eating my lunch while reading.  For those who don’t know, lunch is my favorite meal of the day so that’s a big deal.

Screen shot 2013-10-03 at 9.43.29 PM

FOUR

Caitlin:

Look for Less: J.Crew vs. LOFT

looklessI am obsessed with this J.Crew sweatshirt. OBSESSED! But there is no way I can justify spending $168 on a sweatshirt. I think my husband would disown me. Maybe if it went on sale, but I have a feeling this is going to be one of those items that is sold out before it makes it to the sale rack. Boo. So, I went on the hunt for something similar and found a much cheaper version at LOFT for $54.50. With the 40% off coupon I just got in my email that brings it down to $32.70!!! Granted, the one from LOFT doesn’t have as much sparkle. But I am thinking I could add some of my own embellishments. Hmmmm….future craft project?!

Dana:

Whole Foods app

Screen shot 2013-10-03 at 9.44.37 PM

The Whole Foods recipe app is an all time favorite.  It has so many neat features and it has pictures of what you are making.  I really dislike when cookbooks don’t have pictures.  Back to the app- you can type in what you have on hand and it brings up recipes with those ingredients.  You can also search by ingredient, meal type, special diet, cooking with kids, budget friendly, make ahead, and so much more.  It helped me discover what I can do with 4 poblano peppers from the farm- Poblano Cornbread Stuffing of course!

FIVE

Caitlin:

Party Planning!

pumpkin-14

Planning a party is probably one of my favorite things to do. I decided this week, that I am going to have a Halloween Girls Night later this month. We are going to paint pumpkins, watch Hocus Pocus and paint candy corns on our nails. I can’t wait to share all the details with you. Since Dana is, of course invited, I have decided to keep all the details from her a secret so she can enjoy all the little surprises like everyone else. This is TOURTURE since she is my party planning partner in crime (say that three times fast) but I am going to stay strong!

Dana:

Doctor Who

Screen shot 2013-10-03 at 9.45.47 PM

I’m joining this bandwagon a little late, but I’m glad to be on board.  I’m in the season with the characters above so I have a lot of catching up to do.  I wouldn’t really call is science fiction, just fiction.  It is a lot of fun and very funny, too.  Thank you, Doctor, for filling my nights with laughter.

post-border-2

4 thoughts on “Five on Friday!

Leave a Reply

