DIY Paper Garland

photo-99

I have been coveting paper garland for a while now. I have come close to buying several strands from Etsy, especially from Yellow Bird Yellow Beard. I stopped myself from buying though, because I knew I could figure it out and make them myself. This was definitely a trial and error craft, but once I got it down, it was super easy and now I don’t think I will be able to stop myself from making paper garland for every occasion!

First was cutting the paper shapes for the garland. I decided to go easy on myself and start with circles. I used this Martha Steward cutting tool to cut out my circles:

garland

Once I had all my circles cut out, I got to work sewing! When you start, make sure you have a long tail of thread before you start sewing because it will be what you use to hang your garland. Next, line up your first paper shape and start sewing! Make sure you go slow, so you are not just tearing through the paper.

photo 1

Here is the part that I had some trial and error with. I originally thought in order to make the space in-between the shapes, I needed to just pull the previous circle through and that would give space between them. The problem with this is that it then left two strings just hanging out in the middle and somehow cause the next circle to get messed up. I finally figured out that you have to continue sewing through nothing until you hit the next piece of paper. This causes the thread to twist in between the circles, creating a neater look, and allows you to just continue sewing through.

photo 2 photo 3

Once I had it all sewn together, I laid the garland out. The glitter paper I used was only onside and when I hung it, and when the circles flipped and moved, I saw a lot of white.

photo 4

To solve this problem, I cut out more glitter paper circles and hot glued them to the back of the sewn circles.  photo 5-1 photo 1-2

And then it was time to hang it on my mantle! So easy! Once I figured out how properly make the space between the paper shapes, it went so quickly! The most time consuming part was cutting out the circles and watching a episode of Modern Family while doing it makes it go by very quickly!  Here is the final product: photo 2-2 photo 4-1 photo 1-1

Have you tried making paper garland? Have any tips to share or any suggestions of what paper shape I should do next?

One thought on “DIY Paper Garland

  1. Pingback: Five On Friday | late night crafters

Leave a Reply

