Organize your clothes by season

striped-border

Last weekend I did my semi-annual clothing organization.  I do this twice a year at the beginning of spring and the beginning of fall.  This entails trying on a bunch of things I haven’t worn in a year to see if they fit and then making decisions about what to keep and what to get rid of.  I would recommend this to anyone who is living in tight quarters and doesn’t have a lot of space for clothing or anything in general.  Also to those who enjoy trying on everything in your wardrobe.  Here’s the method to my clothes madness:

First, go through the clothes you were just wearing during the warm weather months.  If you didn’t wear it, purge it.  There are tops I look at all summer and I think, “Oh, I’ll wear that”, but they are never worn.

Second, try on all of your cold weather clothing.  And I mean everything.  Haven’t worn those corduroys in a year?  Try them on.  That sweater was a little tight last year?  Try it on.  You will most likely try something on, look at yourself in the mirror, and wonder why you even bought the item let alone wore it in public.  It happens to the best of us.

Third, look at the shape everything is in.  Is your black cardigan black anymore?  Are there holes?  Has the sweater pilled?  Some of these things are repairable.  Just make sure you actually repair it and not let it sit in a pile for months like I do.  Be honest with yourself if you are actually going to repair it or not.

Lastly, I organize it all.  I put my shorts away on a shelf in my closet and pull my sweaters out to be added to my dresser.

I bet you will end up with more clothes leaving your wardrobe than you think.  You may also come across items you didn’t realize you owned.  That’s what happens when you haven’t seen them for 6 months.  It seems that every time I do this I end up with a trash bag filled with clothes.  I also end up excited about wearing the season’s clothing!

Now, what to do with the purged clothing?  I donate mine to Salvation Army or Goodwill.  And while I’m there I take a peak around to see if there is anything worth adding to my wardrobe.  Check your local Goodwill.  Target sends them brand new clothing with a steep discount.  I’m talking was once $25 and is now $4.25.

I hope this helps anyone feeling like they have too much clothing and not enough space for it.  Or for anyone who just loves to organize.

One thought on “Organize your clothes by season

Leave a Reply

