Fabric Covered Storage Boxes

27

I traded out my brown square storage shelf for a glossy white Expedit (or Expiditty and Dana and I call it) from Ikea. We live in a tiny apartment and I needed a more efficient way of storing all my crafting supplies and this shelf had two more cube shelves than my last shelf. And frankly, was just a lot prettier. I even bought little legs for it and spray painted them gold to make it extra fancy. Even with its shininess and pretty gold legs, it was a mess.

expedit

What I didn’t realize was that all my baskets from my Target shelf would not fit in my Ikea shelf. After much searching, I just couldn’t find baskets that I would be happy with. My motto is, “If you can’t find it, make it.” So I went on the hunt for cardboard boxes that would be the correct size for my new shiny Ikea shelf. I found that banker boxers are just about the right size. They aren’t the exact height, but that was ok with me. I then ordered navy and white fabric in two different patterns and got to work!

1

Here is the box once I put it together. 3

I then drew out a little ‘pattern’ so that I could cut out my fabric.  I left one inch of excess fabric around the edges so that I would have extra fabric to fold over the edges of the boxes. 4 5

6

Then it was time to glue it to the box! I used Modge Podge to adhere the fabric to the box. I put a layer on the bottom and them placed the box on the fabric. I then flipped the box over and smoothed the fabric over so there were no wrinkles or bubbles.  8

Next I glued the fabric to the long sides of the box.

13

To give the box a seamless front, I first glues the edges of the long sides to the front of the box.

14

Next, I folded and glued down the edges of the front flap of fabric. I then covered the front of the box in Modge Podge and glued the front flap of fabric to the box. I repeated the same process on the back of the box.

21

28

Next was the top. For the box top, it was easier to lay the top on the fabric and trace it instead of making another pattern. Once I traced it, I measures the lip of the box, added that to the edge, and then added one inch to that for over lap.

9I cut slits in the corners to be able to neatly fold the fabric around the corners.

22

I used the same method that I did for the box to have a seamless edges on the front of the box top.

23

To make them fancy-pants boxes, I added Martha Stewart bookplates so that I can label what craft items go in what box. Here is the final product!

Before:

Before:

expedit2

After:

25

26

17 thoughts on “Fabric Covered Storage Boxes

    • Hi Jen! Thanks for stopping by! I ordered 2 yards of each pattern of fabric. I would say I used about 1 1/2 for 2 boxes. Because of the odd shape of the template (meaning it isn’t just a simple square) I had a lot of small scraps, but if I had gotten a smaller piece of fabric, I wouldn’t have been able to fit the template on one piece of fabric. Hope that helps! Let me know if you have anymore questions!

  1. I love this idea! I have 2 ikea shelves like this and always wondered if there is other storage boxes that I can use. I’m so glad I found your site. Would you please tell me what our total cost for these 4 boxes was? Thanks =)

    • Thank you for reading our little blog! The banker boxes were $16.99, I got the fabric on sale for $25 and the Martha Stewart book plates are $4.99 a pack. So I spent roughly, $12 a box. Hope that helps!

  2. It looks fantastic! I would love it if you joined and contribute your awesome posts at my link party at City of Creative Dreams on Fridays 😀 Hope to see you there at City of Creative Dreams Link Party

  3. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!

    Very helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info
    a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  4. My brother recommended I would possibly like this website.
    He was once totally right. This submit truly made
    my day. You can not consider just how much time I had spent
    for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

