So many peppers!

striped-border

We have so many peppers!

IMG_1083

6 bell

3 cayenne

4 cooking

3 poblano

What to do?

Well, I took care of all of them except the poblano last Friday.  One of the poblanos looked beyond so it was tossed and I think I will just roast the other ones and freeze them for later use.  Like, say, in taco soup.

As for the bells: I froze them!  This was a suggestion from the farm where I get them.  Now, I have two bags filled with peppers ready to be added to anything or defrosted for a snack.

First, I chopped them up into the size I wanted.  The 4 multicolored ones I did in 1 inch to 1/2 inch squares.  The 2 green I did in strips.

Then I spread them out on a cookie sheet and stuck them in the freezer for 5-10 minutes.  That way, they’ll freeze separately and I won’t have to break off a hunk of them when it’s time to cook.

IMG_1085

After they come out of the freezer, I dumped them all in a bag and squeezed out as much air as possible.

IMG_1086

And I had the best helper ever.

IMG_1084

It’s nice to know I’ll have bell peppers all through winter and that they were organic and came from a farm is the cherry on top.  The chocolate sauce on top is that this was the easiest thing to do ever!

Leave a Reply

