Even more peppers!

I had no idea what to do with the three cayenne peppers and 4 cooking peppers that I had (cooking peppers, by the way, was the name on the sign at the farm).  My boyfriend suggested that I make crushed red pepper with it.  How smart of him!

There is primarily one set of instructions repeated throughout the internet of how to make crushed red pepper: remove the stem, place peppers on a baking sheet and put them in the oven for a few hours on low heat to dry out.  Then, crush them.

I didn’t want to have my oven on for a a few hours.  It consumes energy and I had errands to run.  So I did it a backwards.

First, I cut the stems off and then chopped them into 1 inch slices and threw them in the blender.  A food processor would probably work better, but I don’t have one of those guys.  I hit chop and let it go for a few seconds.

photo

Second, I dumped the peppers out onto a baking sheet and spread them out.  I set the oven to 150 and put them in.  They stayed in there for about an hour.  During this time I did leave and take Olive for a walk.  When we came back in I could really smell the peppers.  It was fantastic.

photo (1)

At the end, I scooped them all up and put them in a container.  We haven’t used them yet but I want to use them in something plain so I can taste them.  Something super, duper plain like butter noodles.

photo (2)

I would say I had a little less than a 1/4 cup dried pepper.  For anyone looking to make a simple holiday gift that looks impressive, I’d give this a try.

Leave a Reply

