Five on Friday!

Happy Friday Everyone!!! We are link up with our favorite ladies again with Five on Friday. Here are Five things we are both LOVING right now. Hope y’all have a wonderful weekend!

fiveonfriday

ONE

Caitlin: J. Crew Cashmere Wash

cashmerewash

I bought this last year for my Cashmere sweaters but have always been too afraid to use it, so I just continued to dry clean them. On Thanksgiving however, my nephew spit up on my favorite sweater and I decided it was time to give it a try. I think I was scared to use it because it has been drilled into me for so long that you DONT ever wash cashmere. But baby spit calls for drastic measures. Let me tell you, I am in love. It works wonderfully! You just soak the sweater in a tub of water with two cap fulls of the detergent for 30 minutes. Then you rinse the sweater with water and lay flat to dry. And the best part, it smells sooooo good. It didn’t take away the softness or shrink the sweater at all. No more dry cleaning cashmere for me!

Dana: Rawhide chews

IMG_1061

Olive is a very active puppy.  She rarely stops moving.  There are times, though, that I need her to stop moving so I can do something like take a shower or go to sleep or write a blog post.  Thank goodness for rawhide chews.  She loves them and they are her nice treat a couple times a day when my focus can’t be on her 100%.

TWO

Caitlin: Dry Shampoo

drybar detox dry shampoo

I had never used dry shampoo until recently and I am hooked. I have thin, straight hair and by the end of the day it can look greasy. Not to mention the day after a shampoo. There is no way I could every go a day without washing my hair. Enter dry shampoo. I have always read that it is good to let your hair go a day or two with out washing as washing it so much just isn’t great for it. With dry shampoo, I can skip a day if I want! I just spray it on my roots, rub it in and I am good to go. It is really great for the days I am running late and don’t have time to wash and style my hair. I find it also gives my hair a lot more texture and makes it much easier to curl and style. The Dry Bar brand is the first brand I tried, and I am pretty happy with it. I think I might try some other brands before I settle on this one though. Any suggestions?

Dana: Ikea Christmas decorations

Screen shot 2013-12-05 at 7.46.51 PM

They have so many cute decorations and they are already on sale!  I bought a bunch of these cute flat ornament shaped ones that are super colorful.  In my family we haven’t had a tree in years so we do a wall tree.  Flat ornaments are the perfect thing for a wall tree.

THREE

Caitlin: Classic Book Collections

books1

Puffin Classic Books

Penguin Books

Penguin Classic Books

classics

Barnes and Nobles Leather bound Collection

I am all about books as gifts this Christmas and I am loving all the classic book collections that are out. They are so beautiful. I would love to have all these books on my shelves!

Dana: Zinio

Zinio is a new thing we have at our library that allows you to checkout digital copies of magazines.  It is amazing!!  I can now read Martha Stewart Living, National Geographic, and so much more for free every month.  On Martha alone, that’s an annual savings of $49.90.  Thank you public library!

FOUR

Caitlin:

Children’s Books

With two six month old nephews and their first Christmas coming up, I have become obsessed with finding amazing children books. I of course have gotten the old classics like Where the Wild Things Are, Good Night Moon, and Caps for Sale to name a few. But I have really enjoyed seeing all the new children’s book  that are out there. At least new to me since I can’t remember the last time I read a children’s book. For me, children’s books are ALL about the illustrations. My favorite illustrator I have come across is Oliver Jeffers. His drawings are so imaginative and fun. Here are a few of my favorites:

this-moose-belongs-to-me-oliver-jeffers

debutart_oliver-jeffers_11293

ows_137210006068065

Dana: Natural Instincts hair dye

hairdye

Every year around this time I dye my hair a shade or two darker.  It’s a winter thing.  I always use Natural Instincts because it’s semi permanent so there aren’t really any root issues and it comes with the best conditioner ever.  It leaves your hair so soft and if your hair is short like mine, you can really get it to last.

FIVE

Caitlin: Family Time

Although my family can be a lot to take in sometimes (there are a lot of us and a lot of big personalities) I was SO happy to be able to see all my siblings over Thanksgiving. I can’t remember the last time I saw all five of siblings in the span of two days. With some in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and New York it is a rarity indeed. Although Thursday and Friday were CRAZY it did my heart good to spend quality time with my big crazy family. I loved cooking with my sister and watching my two little nephews play together. I think my favorite though was going grocery shopping with my Dad and ‘his girls’ as he calls us. Such a simple thing, but so wonderful. Here is a precious picture of my nephew Felix napping with his Fox I gave him, named Monsieur Reynard (Mr. Fox in French) appropriately. When my sister and brother in law talk to Felix with the fox, it is only in french and its is pretty darn adorable.

felix

Dana: Cookies with Caitlin!

cookies5

On Sunday Caitlin and I are going to bake cookies and listen to Christmas music!  It’s like a holiday kick off.  I’m so very excited because I also haven’t seen her in a billion years so we’ll get some good bff time.  Maybe some Chipotle too?

8 thoughts on “Five on Friday!

  1. I love dry shampoo too… it has saved the day too many times to count! Those Penguin Classic Books are simply wonderful and would also look great on my bookshelf. Mason sleeps with his blablah doll just like Felix is in that adorable photo, such a great baby gift 🙂

  2. I had to chuck when I read the bit about the raw hides for the pups! Ours are the same way and raw hides can certainly save the day (or at least an hour). Love your list!

Leave a Reply

