Christmas Recap and After Christmas Shopping

I hope everyone had a wonderful Holiday!

I had one of the best Christmases I have ever had. This was Todd and I’s first Christmas as husband and wife, and my first Christmas as an Aunt to two adorable baby boys. I think these two first are what made this Christmas so special.

Even though my nephews aren’t old enough to open gifts, or really know what is going on, I had so much fun buying them gifts! I got them both tons of children books that I had been collecting for about three months. I can’t wait to continue to build their little libraries as they get older.

It warmed my heart to watch my husband bond with our nephew Felix. He loves children, but has always been hesitant to hold our nephews, and only did it when it was forced upon him. This weekend however, he started asking to hold Felix more and we all just stared at him, shocked. I think he was hesitant before because they were so tiny, but now that they are bigger and little more sturdy,  he seems more comfortable. Felix and Todd became ‘buddies’ as Todd says and he was really sad to see him leave.

toodfelix

Todd also got me the most amazing Christmas gift. Tickets to see Justin Timberlake in February!!!! I was so excited when I opened them up and then all the sudden I looked at him and said, “Wait, am I just going to the concert by myself?” He said, “I was waiting for that.” He then told me that he and Dana’s boyfriend had conspired and bought the tickets together, so Dana got the same gift and we are going to the concert together. WE ARE SO EXCITED!!!!

justin-timberlake-hollywood-palladium-concert-video-pics-04

As per tradition, I did some online shopping after Christmas shopping with my gift cards and money I received for Christmas. Here are some things I picked up:

A new North Face Metropolis Parka:

northface

I have had my current North Face Parka for six years and since the zipper is broken, I decided it was finally time to retire it. I looked on L.L. Bean, Lands End, Columbia and Patagonia for a different jacket, but just couldn’t find one I liked as much as the Metropolis Parka. So I figured, why fix something that worked so well for six years? It is suppose to arrive today, and I can’t wait to bundle up in it.

Down Comforter:

I have always dreamed of a big white fluffy bed, like these:

whitebed

white1

white2

Don’t they look like the perfect beds to lay in and take a nap?!

We received a white duvet cover and sheets from Pottery Barn for our wedding, but I have been hesitant to use it because I don’t want to ruin it. That and we didn’t have a down comforter to put in the duvet. I finally decided to take the plunge and buy a down comforter the day after Christmas and I got the most amazing deal!

down comforter down

Charter Club Level 3 Damask Dot Full/Queen Down Comforter

It was originally $360 but after, gift cards, two coupons, and Macy’s after Christmas sale I got it for $107! Great deals like that always give me such a shopping high 🙂 Now I just need to sit my husband down and explain to him that we now have white bedding and he will need to wash his hands and face before getting into bed. (I’m just kidding…ok not really)

J.Crew Cashmere:

My husband got me the J.Crew boyfriend sweater in grey last Christmas and it is probably my most favorite piece of clothing I own. I have been eying a pink one for a long time but just could never commit to buying it.

pinksweater

With a gift card in hand and 40% off sale I finally got it. I was even inspired by College Prepster to finally get something monogrammed from J. Crew.

carlypink

via College Prepsters Instagram

Because of the added monogram, it will take a little longer to recived so I am not so patiently counting down the days until it arrives.

How was your Christmas? Did you get any great deals with after Christmas shopping?

Leave a Reply

