Resolutions once more

striped-border

 

I am terrible at New Year’s resolutions but I always try.

This year, in 2014, I will (try):

To have $4,000-$5,000 saved in my bank account by summer.  This may seem crazy, but I LOVE saving money.  I feel my best when I have a full tank of gas and a good amount of savings in my bank account.  I try to save as best I can but it is difficult.  I start by questioning everything I purchase.  Do I really need that?  Is it going to last or is it going to be a one season wear?  Do I have food at home to make lunch so I don’t buy lunch?  Question everything.  My boyfriend is a bit the opposite of me when it comes to saving and thinks that we should enjoy the money we make.  I agree that we should do this, but within reason.  Like, our trip to Iceland.  We got a great deal and will restrict our spending when we are there.  So $10,000 seems an obtainable goal to me.

To exercise.  Yea, right.  I’m already down on myself for this one.  I think it and say it every year but it never happens.  I see articles all the time that say the best preventative medicine is exercise and water and I think, “I’m doing this!” but I don’t.  I am just so tired when I get home and want to put jammies on right away.  This year could be different (we’ll see) because I have Olive The High Energy Dog.  The plan is to start with swift walking that will turn into jogging which will be exercise for me and a way to wear out my dog.  Good luck to me on that.

To be happy.  I am generally a happy person but can be brought down easily by minor things.  I hold on to them and don’t let them go and all the while they fester inside.  This needs to stop.  I need to stop rolling my eyes so much, too.  Like right now, I’m doing it right now.  Just let it roll off your back, Dana.

Read more.  You may think that it is odd for a librarian to need to read more but I read less now than I did before I was a librarian.  Part of this is my commute.  I don’t have the time I had before.  This year, I will make a point of not picking my book up and not the remote.

Make more food from scratch.  This is pure learning experience.  I am quite intimidated by making things from scratch because I don’t want to mess up but there will be no more kitchen fear this year!

What are your resolutions?

One thought on “Resolutions once more

Leave a Reply

