Holy Polar Vortex, Batman

Oh my goodness!  It is 3 degrees out!  What is the temp where you live?  Our high for the day according to Accuweather is 14.  14?!  It would get that cold when I lived in Pittsburgh but Maryland just does not get that cold.

Here are some of my favorite things to keep cozy with:

Down parkas

Screen shot 2014-01-07 at 8.27.12 AM

I have an Eddie Bauer parka similar to this one also from Eddie Bauer which makes me feel like I’m walking around with a big cozy comforter on.  I got the parka when I was living in Pittsburgh because before that I only owned a wool peacoat which worked just fine in Maryland winters.  Pittsburgh cold was shocking to me and I couldn’t understand how Caitlin has made it through college in even colder central NY.

 

Boots

Screen shot 2014-01-07 at 8.45.36 AM

Merrell makes nice boots that last and aren’t uncomfortable.  I have ridiculously high arches and most shoes make my feet hurt so it’s nice to own a pair of winter boots that don’t hurt me as I walk.  I love that my boots (the same picture but without the laces) slip on and off easily and don’t leave gaps where snow might get in.  They were also on sale at Marshall’s a couple years ago so they were a steal!

 

Snow Mittens

Screen shot 2014-01-07 at 8.45.45 AM

I think mittens are better than gloves.  Because your fingers are close together and not separated by fabric they keep warmer longer than in gloves.  It is a pain when you need to grab something or use your phone because you have to take the whole thing off but that’s where Glittens come in.  Here is a fun article explaining why glittens are your best bet.  My L.L. Bean snow mittens keep my hands warm and it can be easier to just use my hands sometimes when clearing snow off of my car.

 

Almond Rum

Screen shot 2014-01-07 at 8.33.49 AM

Nothing keeps you warm and cozy quite like liquor.  While in St. Maarten this past summer, my boyfriend and I picked up three bottles of rum from the big rum maker on the island.  By far our favorite is almond.  I love anything almond and having a little almond rum in my coffee keeps me warm and happy.  Note: I do not do this before work.  This is a weekend and snow day thing.

How do you keep cozy?

Leave a Reply

