Five on Friday

fiveonfriday

ONE

Caitlin: Keurig

keurig

 kcups

We got a Kureig at work this week and it has been so exciting. I don’t even drink coffee, but it has been so much fun! We have a sheet metal shop at my work, so one of the guys made us a little drawer organizer out of metal for our K-Cups and it is perfect! My favorite K-Cups are the Tazo English Breakfast tea and the Swiss Miss Hot Chocolate.

Dana: Downton Abbey

Screen shot 2014-01-09 at 8.11.33 PM

So happy it’s back!  I have been a crazed Downton fan since it first started and I was so excited last Sunday night when it returned for its 4th season.  Mary was so depressing but I’m glad to see she’s on the mend and can you even believe that nanny?!  I have so much more but I don’t want to ruin it for anyone so I’ll stop now.  P.S.- I even made a Downton Abbey display at work.

TWO

Caitlin: Caitlin McGauley

cm1 cm2 cm3 cm4 cm5 cm6

I have been obsessed with Caitlin McGauley’s artwork for a long time. Her paintings make me so happy and make me want to try watercolor so decided that I am going to go out and buy myself a watercolor set this weekend and see how I do!

Dana: Scratch Off Map

Screen shot 2014-01-09 at 8.10.18 PM

I saw this scratch off map at the beginning of December and thought it would make a nice gift for my brother for Christmas.  I ended up getting him something else but he got the map for me for Christmas!  Too funny!  I can’t wait to scratch Iceland off in April.

THREE

Caitlin: ARC Sibling Forum

amanda

My oldest sister Amanda is Autistic. This weekend, I am going to a Sibling Forum that is being presented by the ARC of Maryland. I am really looking forward to talking to other siblings of people with developmental disabilities, and sharing my story of growing up with a Autistic sister. I think that this forum is a great way that the ARC is providing support to families of people with developmental disabilities.

Dana: Anniversaries

I have two anniversaries this week.  The first is on Tuesday- one year at my current job being a librarian!  I love my job and am so happy and thankful for it.  Librarian jobs are not easy to come by so I’m holding on to this one and it’s so lovely knowing I get to go somewhere creative everyday and work with an amazing group of people.  The second anniversary is on Wednesday- 4 years with my boyfriend!  Nothing makes me quite as happy as my darling man and I can’t believe it’s been 4 years.  We’ve done so much together and I can’t wait to do more.

FOUR

Caitlin: Coffee Table Books

KateSpade

VintageCocktail

ImperfectHome

psyourinvited

I love a good coffee table book. I have been slowly starting a collection and I can’t seem to stop. These are a few of my favorites that I already have, or that are in my Amazon wish list!

Dana: Pasta Maker

Screen shot 2014-01-09 at 8.10.00 PM

Pasta is one of my favorite food groups and I will be attempting to make my own homemade pasta for the first time this weekend with my new pasta maker.  My mom gave me a hand crank pasta maker, pasta drying rack, and pasta cookbook for Christmas and I’m ready to give it a go.  It looks simple enough but I know I’ll have questions and have to read the directions 20 times beforehand.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

FIVE

Caitlin: Silly Husband

sillyhusband

Oh my silly husband. We have had unusually cold weather in Maryland this week. The other night, when my husband came in from walking Sophie, I noticed he had snuck out wearing my precious Zara scarf! He told me he has been wearing it every night for walks and that he loves it and wants one for himself. If only he knew how hard it was to get my hands on that scarf! I don’t mind him wearing it though, and now he has me wrap it around his neck (the girl way as he says) because he says when I do it, it stays in place much better 🙂

Dana: Blackfish

Screen shot 2014-01-09 at 8.09.48 PM

What an amazingly sad documentary.  For those who have not seen it, Blackfish documents orcas attacks in captivity and tries to explain why this happens.  The differences in their lives in the wild and captivity are drastic and they are highly intelligent and emotional animals left in what seems like buckets for their entire lives.  This film left me questioning and thinking and never wanting to step into a Sea World ever again.

6 thoughts on “Five on Friday

  1. I don’t know how I ever made it without my Keurig… I know it’s just a warm drink but it’s so convenient and never lets me down! Those watercolor prints make me want to give it a go too – I think my husband would kill me if I try to pick up another hobby. Love the coffee table books and happy anniversaries Dana! Have a wonderful weekend ladies!

    • I don’t what it is about the Keurig but my whole office is so obsessed! We are already out of K-Cups and everyone is hounding me about when our next shipment comes in haha

  2. I am so glad to have found y’alls blog via 5 on Friday! We love of Keurig, it is so convenient. Also, I wanted to say best of luck at the forum and it is so nice that you are sharing your and your sister’s story! What a wonderful way to bring support to others in your area.

    • Thank you Christie Ann! The forum was AMAZING and I can’t wait for the next one. It was so neat to be able to talk to other people that can relate to having a sibling with developmental disabilities. Thank you for visiting our little blog!

Leave a Reply

