Grandma’s ‘Famous’ Cookies

My Dad and Step Mom got me a Kitchen Aid Mixer for Christmas and I was so excited to use it for the first time this weekend. I knew that the first thing I had to make was my Grandma’s ‘Famous’ Chocolate Chip Cookies for my Dad. They are his absolute favorite. Whenever he would see my Grandma, he would take her a bag of chocolate chips so she would make him a batch of cookies. After my Grandmother passed, he began taking my Aunt bags of chocolate chips, expecting to get a batch of cookies in return. Well, when my Kitchen Aid finally arrived (it had been on backorder) my Dad went out and bought a 72 oz bag of chocolate chips and told me to get to work.

cookie5

So I called my Aunt and asked her if she could send me my Grandma’s ‘Famous’ Cookie recipe. And this is what happened.

I kid you not, my Grandma’s ‘Famous’ Cookie recipe is the recipe on the back of the Toll House Chocolate Chip bag. Seriously. Straight out of an episode of Friends.  I was shocked. The ONLY thing my Grandma did differently was dissolving the baking soda before adding it.

So I baked cookies yesterday afternoon and they were the best cookies I have ever made. I’m thinking it was all because of the new Kitchen Aid Mixer 🙂

cookie6

Before I started baking, I went to Williams Sonoma to pick up a few new baking tools. My favorite thing I got was a cookie scoop! Definitely not a necessity but it made putting the cookie dough on the pan so much quicker and neater. No sticky cookie dough all over my fingers! I don’t think I could make cookies without it now.

cookie8

OXO Cookie Scoop

I had two cookie tins left over from Christmas, so I decided to have a little fun decorating them.

cookie9

I spray painted the bottoms of the tins pink and gold and then spray painted the tops with chalkboard paint. Then, I use chalkboard pens to write on the top of the tins.

cookie12

cookie11

Does anyone have any suggestions on what cookie recipe I should try next?

3 thoughts on “Grandma’s ‘Famous’ Cookies

  1. Pingback: Five On Friday | late night crafters

Leave a Reply

