Five On Friday

Happy Friday Everyone!!! It is finally the end of the week and we have decided to treat ourselves to a movie tonight! We are going to see August: Osage County tonight and Caitlin has made goodie bags of chocolate chip cookies to sneak into the movies with us. What are you doing tonight to celebrate Friday?

fiveonfriday

ONE

Caitlin: Essie Gel Polish

essiegel

I am so excited that Essie has FINALLY come out with gel nail polish. Essie has always prided themselves on being a company for healthy and natural nails and they felt the Gel Nails did too much damage to nails. They have now developed a gel polish that is healthier for your nails than the normal Gel Nails. From Beauty World News:

“Accompanying the release of Essie’s Fall 2013 Collection is the LED System and gel nail polish range, which will leave your nails in pristine condition. The system utilizes Keratin-care technology in the five-step process. The nail formula contains pro-vitamins B5 for fortification and vitamin E for hydration, with the Essie Gel lasting up to 14 days, according to Nails Magazine.”

And of course, the colors are amazing. I am going to get my nails done with Ashley tomorrow, but unfortunately our nail place isn’t carrying them yet. I am going to buy a color or two online here, so I can take them with me next time I get my nails done! My favorite colors are On My Team and Deep Pockets.

Dana: New Hope Mills pancake mix

Screen shot 2014-01-16 at 7.36.11 PM

I was introduced to this pancake mix by Caitlin and Todd and it makes the best pancakes I have ever had in my life!  I am not kidding.  Caitlin and Todd had little bags as part of their wedding favor and I may have taken more than one favor at the end of the night.  To be fair- I was one of the last people to leave.  Well, we finally made all that we had.  I wanted to make them last weekend but was supremely disappointed to discover I did not have any pancake mix.  Big sigh.  Good thing is, I just have to go to our local Wegman’s to pick up some more!

TWO

Caitlin: Birch Box

Birchbox

I have  known about Birch Box for a long time but had never thought about getting it because I always assumed it was just too expensive. A friend on Instagram recently posted a picture of her Birch Box this month and it looked like so much fun so I decided to look into it. It is only $10 a month! MUCH cheaper than I thought it was going to be. I just signed up and can’t wait for my first box. It will be like getting Sephora samples every month!

Dana: Through the Post Clutch from ModCloth

Screen shot 2014-01-16 at 7.35.47 PM

I cannot get enough of this clutch!  ModCloth has some really cute book and mail themed stuff as of late and I am all about it.  There is also a ridiculously cute book wallet, too.  Librarian swoon!

THREE

Caitlin: Kate Spade Be Mine Studs

heartearrings

Valentines Day is my favorite holiday. Probably because it is a good excuse to wear as much pink and humanly possibly. I think I am going to have to add these adorable pink heart earrings from Kate spade to my Valentines Day outfit!

Dana: Olive You baseball tee

Screen shot 2014-01-16 at 7.35.38 PM

Caitlin found this adorable Valentine’s Day shirt on Etsy and it might just be a must have.  Not only do we LOVE Valentine’s Day, but it has my puppy’s name on it!  Olive, not you.  And I think baseball tees are some of the comfiest shirts out there.

FOUR

Caitlin:Cookies!

I have been making way too many chocolate chip cookies since I got my Kitchen Aid. I bring most of them to work , so I needed something to transport the cookies. I had a few Christmas cookie tins left so I decorated them. Check out my post here about my Grandma’s ‘Famous’ Cookies and my chalkboard cookies tins!

cookie12

Dana: America’s Test Kitchen

Screen shot 2014-01-16 at 7.35.26 PM

If you have never looked at America Test Kitchen’s website, or watched their show, or read/used one of their cookbooks you are missing out.  They go through every recipe a trillion times and try it a trillion different ways to make sure it is the best.  It is truly a test kitchen.  Everything I have ever made from their cookbooks has turned out perfectly.  My favorites are their Devil’s Food Cake and Sweet Potato Rolls.

FIVE

Caitlin: Mini Mason Jars

minijars

I have sooooo many mini mason jars left over from making mini mason jar pies over the Holiday season. I brought some to work this week to see if I could find some use for them. And what do you know, they are perfect for organizing all of my paper clips! I think it looks pretty cute 🙂

Dana: My Bookshelf

Screen shot 2014-01-16 at 7.35.12 PM

This week I went a little overboard at the library and added 4 books to my ever expanding bookshelf.  I’m currently reading the second Call the Midwife book and listening to The Engagements by J. Courtney Sullivan in my car during my commute.  If you like reading about different time periods and weddings then you should pick up The Engagements.  My other additions are The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman, This is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett, In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson, and An Arsonist’s Guide to Writers’ Homes in New England by Brock Clarke.

2 thoughts on “Five On Friday

  1. I will have to try the Essie gel polish – huge fan of their colors. I also signed up for Birch Box as well. I love trying new products and the size is great for travel. When you break down the cost, the value of the items in the box are more than $10, so it’s like a little beauty steal. I’m excited to see what’s in my first box. Hope you ladies have a fabulous weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

