Best Breakfast

striped-border

I am not a fan of breakfast.  Being a picky eater I don’t like eggs or bacon and I’m very specific about the pancakes I like.  The only cereal I like with milk is Cheerios.  Every other cereal I eat dry and right out of the box.  But oatmeal, my friend- Oatmeal is delicious!  I ate rolled oats as a kid from the Quaker guy but I’ve graduated to steel cut as an adult.  Steel cut oats are better for you and here’s a nice infographic from Prevention magazine to explain why.

My favorite way to prepare steel cut oats is ahead of time.  I use a recipe from The Best American Classics cookbook from America’s Test Kitchen.  It involves toasting the oats before you cook them to give them a nice nutty flavor.  It does take about half an hour to cook but you end up with oatmeal the consistency of pudding.  Here’s the recipe straight from the book:

Perfect Oatmeal

serves 3 to 4

3 cups water

1 cup whole milk (I had 1% so that’s what I used)

1 tablespoon unsalted butter

1 cup steel-cut oats

1/4 teaspoon salt

1. Bring the water and milk to a simmer in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Meanwhile, heat the butter in a medium skillet over medium heat until just beginning to foam; add the oats and toast, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until golden and fragrant with a butterscotch-like aroma, 1 1/2 to 2 minutes.

2. Stir the toasted oats into the simmering liquid, and reduce the heat to medium-low; simmer gently, until the mixture thickens and resembles gravy, about 20 minutes.  Add the salt and stir lightly with a wooden spoon handle.  Continue simmering, stirring occasionally with the spoon handle, until the oats absorb almost all the liquid and the oatmeal is think and creamy, with a pudding-like consistency, 7 to 10 minutes.  Off heat, let the oatmeal stand uncovered for 5 minutes.  Serve immediately, with topping if desired.

I top my oatmeal with a tablespoon of flaxseed meal (for fiber), about a quarter cup of berries, and a sprinkle of slivered almonds for some crunch.  I make the full recipe at the beginning of the week and scoop out some every morning for breakfast.  I heat the berries for 20 seconds in the microwave and then add the oatmeal on top which I then put in for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes.

Oatmeal leaves me nice and full and it lasts until lunch which means I don’t have to have a snack.  Here’s a messy but delicious looking picture of my oatmeal:

photo (12)YUM!!

Leave a Reply

