Heart Shaped Pies

For Valentine’s Day this year I made heart shaped pies.  I made them a couple weeks beforehand to see how it would go and it went perfectly.  They were a little messier this time around and I would do a couple things differently when I make them again.

I used a heart shaped cutter and press that Caitlin gave me a few years ago for a Valentine’s Day gift.  It’s from Williams Sonoma but they don’t have it anymore.  I used the pie crust recipe on the back of the box which is an all butter recipe.  I’m not big into shortening because I love butter that much.IMG_1383

The recipe says to pulse a few times in a food processor.  I don’t own a food processor so I used my pastry blender and then I use my hands.  The best part about using your hands is that you get to eat the dough that gets stuck to them.

IMG_1385After letting the dough sit in the refrigerator for a couple hours I rolled the dough out and cut out 8 pairs of hearts.

IMG_1386 IMG_1387I filled them with mixed berries and sealed them with an egg wash and a good smash down on the press.  Now, if I were to do this again, I would drain the berries a little better so there wasn’t so much liquid in the pies.

The pies sit in the freezer for 30 minutes and then you brush them with the egg wash and bake them for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

IMG_1389Then you enjoy!

You don’t need the special heart shaped cutter and press to make hand pies.  You could easily use a different cookie cutter or just cut squares.

Oh, and Olive was my little helper the whole time.

IMG_1384

Leave a Reply

