Five on Friday

fiveonfriday

Link up with us and April, Christina, Darci, and Natasha for Five on Friday!

ONE

Caitlin: Area Rug Dilemma

rugchoices

Check out my post from early this week about my area rug dilemma. Leave a comment and let me know which rug you vote for!

Dana: girlmeetsbox.com

I am loving this whole box movement.  It is just plain fun to get a box in the mail with a surprise in it.  Girl Meets Box is a website that gives reviews of a variety of different boxes and shows you examples of what comes inside, too.  There is a box for whatever you want.  Did you know there is more than one period related box?  Now you do!

TWO

Caitlin: JUSTIN!!!!

JT

For Christmas, my husband and Dana’s boyfriend bought us tickets to see Justin Timberlake’s concert! The concert is on Monday and I can hardly wait. I even took the whole day off and scheduled a massage and may even go to get my nails done!

Dana: Chronicle Books’ Card Catalog Notecard Set

Screen shot 2014-02-20 at 9.44.38 PM

Best ever notecard set!  I want a card catalog but they are not the cheapest or the easiest thing to come by so these cards might have to suffice.  I sometimes wish we still had a card catalog at the library but I would not want to be the one to maintain it.  It would just be handy when the Internet goes down.

THREE

Caitlin: Spa Gift Card

spafinderMy aunt got all the ladies in our family a Spa Finder Gift Card for Christmas this year. The great thing about the Spa Finder gift card is that they can be used at many participating spas and can be used for whatever treatment you would like. I can’t wait to use mine for a massage on Monday!

Dana: My Standard Shift Car

We had some snow last week and it made me super delighted to have my standard shift car.  I bought my car a little over a year ago and would not budge on getting manual.  Not only is it less expensive (the upgrade to automatic was $2,000) but I love driving it.  It can be a pain in my right knee in traffic but being able to have all the control when driving on a snow covered road makes me feel all the more safe.

FOUR

Caitlin: Zinc Spray

zinc2

I have been sick all week but this zinc spray has saved me. When my Step-Mom heard I was getting sick, she ran this zinc spray over to me. She SWEARS by it. And now I do too. While I am still feeling under the weather, my cold has not gotten any worse and definitely isn’t as bad as my colds normally are.

Dana: onsugarmountain.com

Screen shot 2014-02-20 at 9.49.22 PM

Oh my word, everything looks delicious!  On Sugar Mountain has recipes galore and they don’t terrify me.  I like the mix of casual and fun with some more sophisticated items.  The one that caught my attention was for Mark Bittman’s Buttermilk Biscuits.  Pretty much anything labeled Mark Bittman will make me want to cook it.

FIVE

Caitlin: Hair Cut Time!

I am getting my hair cut tomorrow and it is LONG overdue (pun intended). I think I am going to try something different and get rid of a lot of the length. (My hair is currently past the middle of my back) I have been pinning like crazy on my hair-do board. Here is my favorite so far:

hair

P. S. Isn’t Oliva Palermo so beautiful?!

Dana: What’s On My Bookshelf?

Screen shot 2014-02-20 at 9.49.41 PM

I’m on a YA bent right now and finished John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars last week and am in the middle of Veronica Roth’s Divergent this week.  Both books are coming out as movies this year and both star Shailene Woodley.  I adored Woodley in The Spectacular Now and am excited to see her in these upcoming films.  The Fault in Our Stars is one of the most beautiful books I have ever read.  John Green does such a wonderful job of capturing a difficult time (the main character has cancer) and twisting it with the basics of teenage-hood.  I wanted to read it again as soon as I finished it which is kind of funny because re-reading books is a major theme in the book.

Divergent is proving a little more difficult to get my head into.  Although I like it, it seems a little forced and there is no mystery about where the book is going.  I love some good foreshadowing but this foreshadowing is just laying it out.  I want it to make me work a little and throw me off course.  The main character, Tris, sometimes bothers me.  She written to be smart but she seems very blind in a lot of spots.  The author, Veronica Roth, was 22 when she wrote it and I wonder if that has anything to do with it.  Also- it makes me think of a Hunger Games knock off in some ways.

3 thoughts on “Five on Friday

Leave a Reply

