Painting Baskets

I was sitting on my couch last night watching The Mindy Project and I couldn’t stop staring at the baskets I have under my benches.

basket2

They stick out like a sore thumb to me. They are way to dark for all the bright colors I have in my living room. My immediate thought…find new storage containers! But then I remembered…I am trying to be better about spending money on unnecessary items. Plus these baskets aren’t even 2 years old. Then, these baskets from Target that I have been coveting came to mind:

baskets

My baskets aren’t as light as the inspiration basket, or the same shape, but I thought adding white to the top would still be a vast improvement. So I broke out my Martha Stewart craft paint in ‘Wedding Cake’ and began painting!

For the first coat, I used a bigger brush to cover more area.

basket7

 

For the second coat and for the bottom of my stripe, I used a smaller angled brush to get in between all the woven wicker.

basket3

And then I was done!

basket6 basket4

 

I only had time to finish one basket last night, but will finish the other tonight. After I am done, I am going to spray a light coat of acrylic sealer over the painted part to make sure the paint doesn’t chip off over time.

I’m wondering though, if I should make the stripe bigger? What do you think?

Also…this had given me a great idea for my nephew’s Easter basket! Stay tuned 🙂

One thought on “Painting Baskets

Leave a Reply

