Painted Table

I recently bought what I call a Key Dropping Table…a table where I throw my keys when I walk in the door.  It was more than I wanted to spend but it works very nicely so I kept it.  The only thing I didn’t like about it was that it was all white.  I know some people (ahem…Caitlin, I’m looking at you) love all white furniture, but I find it too plain.  I love furniture with bright colors and patterns that may not even go together.  So I decided to paint the table.  I had a collection of drawer knobs already so I replaced those as soon as I got it home.  A yellow one on the drawer and a multicolor flower one on the door.  Green is my favorite color, especially a citron/chartreuse green, and it can be found throughout my home.

table1

Once I picked stripes I decided to make them get a little further apart as they went down the table.  I started with 1 1/4 inch at the top, 2 1/4 inches in the middle, and 3 1/4 inches at the bottom.  Then I decided I wanted the top to be blue just for fun.

table2

I measured and taped the stripes off and covered the door and wood parts.  I started by painting with a brush but discovered I would been exactly 1 trillion coats so I ended up buying spray paint to finish the job.

table3

The top now has my paper succulent garden and a ceramic beer bottle dish that holds my mail keys.

table4 table5

The door needs a little something and I haven’t quite decided what it will be.  I was thinking of painting opposite blue stripes or polka dots in blue.  I could mix things up and do a pattern in yellow or orange.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

