3D printing and Etsy

MakerSpaces and 3D printing have been on my mind lately as I work on getting both into my library.  I’m very excited for this project and have been scouring Etsy to find 3D printed things as examples of craft things that can be made with 3D printers.  Here  are my favorites:

Wearable Planter

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 5.19.49 PM

You can take your plants with you if you have one of these planters.  I love the brooches for a simple boutonniere in a wedding.  If I was a biker, I would totally decorate my bike with them, too!

CharlesworthDynamics

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 5.20.02 PM

As I shared in a previous post, I’ve recently been watching A LOT of Doctor Who so this TARDIS container kit would be a perfect addition to my desk.  I wouldn’t keep pencils in it, though.  I would keep candy in it.

Printmeneer

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 5.20.13 PM

I can see so many Christmas gifts coming from here!  And gifts for myself, too!  It’s amazing how one thing makes me want to throw an entire themed party for it.  Like the Pride and Prejudice cookie cutters.  Now I want to throw some sort of Jane Austen party.  I don’t know what that party would look like beyond having very pretty cookies.  So many choices!!

FormURLife

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 5.20.26 PM

USB drives are a life saver at work.  How awesome would it be to have one that had my name or some other fun saying or word?  I know someone that would do her monogram…

BennysHouse

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 5.20.39 PM

These house necklaces are cute and clever.  The artist’s background is in architecture, which explains the simple house form.  The two or three houses together would make a nice gift to anyone who lives far away from you as a reminder that your homes are still close.

Half Craft Studio

Screen shot 2013-10-28 at 5.20.49 PM

Can’t afford a gemstone?  Get one of these 3D printed ones instead.  Colorful and fun, they’ll add some matte sparkle to your outfit.

If you had a 3D printer, what would you make?

Leave a comment